The Robban Assafina Maritime Awards Night 2023 has successfully concluded this Tuesday, June the 20th at the Hilton Beirut Habtour Grand, located in the heart of the Lebanese Capital Beirut and held under the patronage of the Directorate General of Land & Maritime Transport, Ministry of Public Works & Transport in Lebanon, with a regional and international participation of the maritime and shipping industry leaders.

This maritime event gathered international and regional maritime figures to honor them for their significant roles, accomplishments and valued milestones in the shipping, ships, offshore and ports industries.

Commenting on the significance of the Robban Assafina Maritime Awards Night 2023, Minister of Public works and Transport Ali Hamie’s opening speech, delivered by Dr. Ahmad Tamer, Director General of Land and Maritime Transport, referred to this ceremony as a premier opportunity for maritime leaders to announce their success stories, highlight their contributions in this industry, in light of what the event provides in terms of outstanding visibility, recognition, and value.

He said: “This ceremony is in line with the development vision of the Lebanese maritime and ports’ sector, and the new reform frameworks that attract investments. I believe that today's ceremony is an inclusive event that crosses borders between different countries and cultures to support Lebanon's development vision, so I thank Robban Assafina, the organizer of Robban Assafina Maritime Awards Night 2023, for its efforts in bringing together the whole industry in a great ambiance away from all daily loads.

The minister's speech confirmed that the activities of ports of Beirut and Tripoli are increasing and thriving according to the vision set to develop the Lebanese ports, in line with their pivotal roles and positions on the Eastern Mediterranean coast. The minister mentioned that the container activity including transshipment in the port of Beirut recorded an increase by 76% compared to last year.

He added: "Keeping up with the sector’s developments along with our continuous support to develop the ports based on the principle of constant follow-up, we are proud to say that the port of Beirut has recovered and is now one of the main Arab ports, ready to attract companies to further invest in the Lebanese ports sector.


Read More: Robban Assafina Maritime Awards Night 2023 Announces Shortlisted Nominees


On the same level, the minister highlighted the efforts of the Ministry of Public Works and Transport to improve the maritime transport sector in Lebanon, despite all the economic and financial crises that the Lebanese economy has lately endured: “We are determined to move forward in advancing the shipping and maritime transport sector. We have recently launched the floating dock tender in the port of Tripoli, which will enhance and reshape the ship repair sector into being more competitive. In this manner, we invite local and foreign companies to participate in this tender.”

The minister also referred to the ongoing collaboration with the IMO, EMSA and IALA, and the persistent follow up to develop the Lebanese and local regulations in line with the international regulations and maintain safety, all of which positions Lebanon in accordance with its commitment to further develop and enhance the maritime sector.

In his welcome and keynote speech, Captain Haitham Chaaban, CEO of “Robban Assafina” stated the importance of this ceremony on the region’s maritime events chart, which provides a significant platform to celebrate and honor the remarkable achievements of the maritime and shipping industries.

He commented: “Tonight, we come together to recognize the visionaries, innovators, and pioneers who have played an instrumental role in shaping and advancing the maritime sector, and it is only fair that we pay tribute to the exceptional individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and made invaluable contributions to the maritime domain. We express our sincere gratitude to our esteemed sponsors, supporters, and partners for their generous contributions, without which this event would not have been possible. Our heartfelt appreciation also goes to the dedicated organizing committee of Robban Assafina, whose tireless efforts and unwavering commitment to excellence have ensured the success of this evening. We anticipate that this event will be a resounding success, filled with memorable moments.”

The winners
Sponsors from all over the region showed their support to this event, which was organized by the specialized maritime, shipping and marine technology media platform “Robban Assafina”, and 26 awards were presented to the leading figures that showed exceptional contributions to the maritime industry. The night’s winners were as follows:


Maritime Youth Award
Mr. Sami Sallaum, President of the Board at Sallaum Lines
The Maritime Safety Award
Kuwait Oil Tanker Company
Best Project Innovation Award
CEO of the Year Award
MP ENG. ADIB AABDEL MSSIH, CEO at Marine Core and Charter
Port of the Year Award
Umm Qasr Port
Best freight Forwarder & Logistics Award
Gevo Maritime & Transport
Sustainable Environment Award
SOHAR Port and Freezone
The Marine Insurer Award
Islamic P&I Club
Best Marine Services Award
MMC Group Holding
Classification Society of the Year Award
Bureau Veritas
Leading Woman in Shipping Award
Mrs. Heba Bawarshi, Board Member at Gezairi Group
New Building yard of the Year Award
Med Marine 
Top Service Provider in Marine & Offshore Award
Global Maritime Consultants Group (GMCG)
Best Ship Agency Award
Blue Wave Shipping Agent 
Ship Manager of the Year Award 
Marine Capabilities MARCAP
Best Yacht Services
Edelweiss Maritime Management Services 
Best Ship Broker Award 
BTR Marine Services 
The Green Shipping Award 
Dromon Bureau of Shipping
Maritime Law Firm of the Year Award 
VRETTAKOS General Chambers Law  Offices 
Shipping Company Award
Sallaum Lines
Maritime Personality of the Year Award
Sir Sohan Roy, Founder, Chairman, and CEO of Aries Group of Companies 
Best Ship Repair Award
Ozata Shipyard 
Excellence in Maritime Education Award
International Sailing Schools Association – ISSA 
Social Responisbility Award 
Maritime Sciences and Technology Institute – MARSATI
Maritime Hall of Fame Award 
Eng. Jad Mouawad – CEO, URSA AS 
Seafarer of the Year Award
Capt. Salam Yazbak



Read Here



Issue 85 of Robban Assafina

(May/ June 2023)


Related News