The Maritime Standard Awards 2023

The Maritime Standard Awards showcases excellence across the shipping, ports and maritime sector. The ninth event in the annual series took place on Tuesday, 7th November 2023, at the Atlantis in Dubai and like all the others beforehand celebrated the achievements of the industry’s top performers with style and panache. Once again, the quality of the event and the level of attendance demonstrated clearly why it is now unquestionably the leading awards ceremony for the maritime sector in the Middle East and the Indian Subcontinent.

In excess of 950 executives, including delegations from Saudi Arabia, India, Oman, Kuwait, Asia and Europe, assembled to witness the presentation of 29 different Awards, and enjoy the top-quality entertainment.

Held for the ninth year in a row under the patronage of His Highness, Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman and Chief Executive, Emirates Airline, the Awards were hosted by England’s top goalkeeper, Peter Shilton. Past MCs have included comedian and impressionist, Jon Culshaw; PR guru, journalist & writer, Alistair Campbell; Dutch soccer legend, Ruud Gullitt; former CNN news anchor, Jim Clancy; BBC TV Journalist, Tim Wilcox; and Bollywood superstar & former Miss Universe, Lara Dutta.

This year DP World UAE Managing Director, Abdullah Bin Damithan delivered the keynote speech, before the prestigious awards were presented to individuals and companies following the deliberations of the judging panel. In addition, there were a number of special awards presented by TMS for particularly impressive levels of performance over many years.

Special awards this year included Woman of the Year – Rania Tadros, Managing Partner of the Dubai office at Stephenson Harwood; International Personality of the Year – Bill Gallagher, President of International Registries, Inc, (IRI); Lifetime Achievement – Dr Eng. Farhan Muhesen Al Fartosi, General Manager of the General Company for Ports of Iraq; and Outstanding Achievement – Bimal Bhatia, Executive Director of the Nasco Group. In addition, Alia Janahi, head of HSE at DP World was presented with the Young Person in Shipping Award; Gunther Hann founder of Martrade was given the Legion of Honour; and the Deal of the Year Award went to the Saudi Ports Authority (Mawani)

The TMS Awards evenings attract all of the region’s key decision makers, including chairmen, chief executives and directors from leading shipping companies, ports, terminal operators and maritime companies and organisations. Attendees come not just from across the Middle East and Indian Subcontinent, but globally as well.

The Maritime Standard has launched its special 10th anniversary TMS Awards evening. Work is already well underway in preparation for a very special evening planned to mark the significant milestone. The Maritime Standard Awards will take place on Tuesday November 7th in Dubai, once again at Atlantis, The Palm, Dubai, in its iconic ballroom.